MOOC Class (Academic English)

Hello readers, today I would like to share with all of you about this one course from MOOC (Massive Open Online Courses) called Academic English. If you do not have a MOOC account, you have to sign up first by clicking here, in order for you to participate in any courses.

Although, the number of the students in this course is not really enormous. But, I join this course (Academic English) because when I go through its course content, I like some of the topics which is I think, suitable for a Master student like me. For instance, about paraphrasing, writing a literature review, creating a survey and interview questions, referencing, and much more.

Basically, by the end of this course, I should be able to;

1) Write different genres of essays

2) Present information in a form of a poster

3) Write a mini research paper

screen-shot-2016-09-08-at-3-11-27-pm

screen-shot-2016-09-08-at-3-12-04-pmscreen-shot-2016-09-08-at-3-12-24-pmscreen-shot-2016-09-08-at-3-13-12-pm

Another new thing that I learned from this course was about referencing tool, called Mendeley. I had never heard about this referencing tool. But then, after some time, I think this tool is very useful for university students. In short, Mendeley is a free reference manager and an academic social network.

As usual, you have to create your account first before you can access and download the software into you PC.

screen-shot-2016-09-08-at-3-27-10-pm

screen-shot-2016-09-08-at-3-30-22-pm

The software should look like this.

… and if you still not sure how to use this software, you can visit here.

All in all, from what I observed, I can say that I need these kind of tutorials/topics in order to widen my knowledge about academic writing, thesis to be exact. As I am going to write my thesis soon. This is like an additional information for me and I cannot wait to apply it. Especially when it comes to Mendeley. I do not have to write my reference manually. But still, I will always have to check my references carefully as this kind of ‘software’ may go haywire.

One thought on “MOOC Class (Academic English)

  1. aisyahjalil says:

    good job in introducing mendeley!

    Like

Leave a Reply

